Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (35) - TV Shows (2)

Immortal review

Posted : 2 years, 7 months ago on 3 January 2015 12:02 (A review of Immortal)

A good movie, which mingles nicely the real actors and animation/blue screen shots. At first this might bother, but by the end of the film you really don't pay attention to it anymore. Visually beautiful. The music is fantastic, and the plot isn't quite what you might think. Most might say this movie is boring, but I saw something very intriguing in it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Star Wreck: In the Pirkinning review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 12 September 2014 12:48 (A review of Star Wreck: In the Pirkinning)

It is very strange to see a movie like this - spoken in Finnish. Then again, it works very well in the whole scheme of parody.

I am not a fan of Star Trek (at least not yet), so some of the jokes might have not been caught by me, but all in all, the movie is enjoyable - even when watched more than once.

Crude at places, funny and ironic, not to mention pretty good looking considering how and where it was made.

We need more movies like these!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pokémon - Destiny Deoxys review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 12 September 2014 12:46 (A review of Pokémon - Destiny Deoxys)

One of the best Pokémon movies I've seen so far.

The plot is pretty good, although sometimes not executed in sharpest possible detail (in movies/tv shows directed to kids, they usually jump around a bit to skip anything that might lose the viewer's focus). Altogether, the story was good and touching just the right way, and not hurried for the sake of progress.

This is one of the rare times when the new side-characters in the movie weren't disappointing; they were well made and introduced, and you actually cared about what happened to them. They became something other than meaningless faces tagging along for the action; they were part of the team.

Team Rocket made their mandatory appearance, but I don't think they contributed too much to the plot in general. And I don't think they were supposed to, either; they were just familiar faces you could recognize in the flow of the movie.

There was also a Pokémon Munchlax that had a small role to play, and it was quite cleverly introduced to the movie. You don't need to do much to gain a certain level of affection.

A good, enjoyable movie although it started to get a little dull near the end. No matter. An entertaining movie for all Pokémon fans.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Immortal review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 12 September 2014 12:36 (A review of Immortal)

A good movie, which mingles nicely the real actors and animation/blue screen shots. At first this might bother, but by the end of the film you really don't pay attention to it anymore. Visually beautiful. The music is fantastic, and the plot isn't quite what you might think. Most might say this movie is boring, but I saw something very intriguing in it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Alexander review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 12 September 2014 12:32 (A review of Alexander)

This review is based on Alexander Revisited, which is a longer, differently cut version, but still has just about the same stuff in it.

Before this movie, I knew practically nothing about Alexander the Great (what little I had learned in school was long forgotten). After seeing this, the loving bond was inevitable: not only did it have actors I enjoyed watching, but characters to fall in love with as well. This is the single most interesting piece of history I would ever want to study.

People have a lot of different kind of opinions about this movie, and I understand that. For me, loving this movie comes from somewhere other than objectively judging its quality, and I have no way to actually defend my opinion (watching Colin Farrell make out with Jared Leto, just a bit, definitely would have won me over no matter what the content).

The movie seems a bit dragged out, the battle scenes are too chaotic and long (not to mention the final battle in India which is always the one I hate most), but outside those, there are many good elements. A journey of a man with a vision, yet those who follow him eventually grow tired of chasing after something they do not want. And yet, Alexander the Great was loved by many, and he conquered more than anyone probably thought possible. This movie shows just that - and perhaps a bit more.

The soundtrack of this movie is wonderful, within or without the movie. Vangelis did an amazing job on that.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Thunderstruck review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 12 September 2014 12:28 (A review of Thunderstruck)

This is not my type of movie, per se (I am no fan of AC/DC, for one), but I gave it a chance since I wanted to see Sam Worthington in it.

Mark my words, this is not your usual burial, but then, this is not your usual group of people either.

Spurred by a promise made 12 years before, four friends go on a trip to take their dead friend to his final resting place - beside a legend whom they think saved their lives on one night in Sydney. Problems start right off because not all of them are willing to go (whether it is a promotion at work or problems with an Asian Triad). Next, of course, they have to get their mate's ashes - and take them to Perth.

A journey full of trouble, adventures - or disasters, however one likes to look at it. The movie is touching and humorous at the same time, without going overboard at any point. It is adorable how these four men are trying to fulfill a promise, and how in the end it brings a whole lot of people together to finish this one journey together.

I didn't necessarily like the music, but the movie was better than I dared to expect, and the actors were rather good.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Category 6: Day of Destruction review

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 28 August 2014 07:39 (A review of Category 6: Day of Destruction)

Way better than I dared to hope!

The plot takes its time to brew; we get to know the characters and the situation, slowly, and by the time the real action begins, you're actually familiar enough with everyone to feel sorry for them.

The special effects were not the best. It's funny how bad they were at places, while sometimes they were actually quite good. That doesn't really matter in this movie, because it gets the message across beautifully and within reason.

This film is more than just what its covers shows; it's a story of survival, or political game and interesting stories that you might not think would be involved. People come together at the hardest of time, and when going gets tough... some of them get tougher. No super-heroics here, though.

Interesting movie that didn't feel too long and was never too boring to keep watching.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hollow Man 2 review

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 28 August 2014 07:33 (A review of Hollow Man 2)

I liked this better than "Hollow Man" - perhaps because of the presence of Peter Facinelli.

The plot loses its element of surprise due to the first movie, but at the same time, while there is nothing amazing in this one, it is still pretty solid and good.

Characters do not grow very much, but at the same time, they are given room to play out their own motives.

Strickt aim from beginning to end, with a few secrets to be revealed on the way, and we have a pretty decent action flick in our hands.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Poseidon review

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 28 August 2014 07:26 (A review of Poseidon)

I don't usually like to watch films like this, as I don't like the nervous, uneasy feeling I experience while watching them. However, I wanted to give this a chance.

A New Year's celebration on a luxury cruiser Poseidon is underway, leading us through brief introductions of our future cast (some of the most delightful being an aging gay-man Richard Nelson and an ex-navy Dylan Johns), when a rogue wave appears quite suddenly (no time wasted there) and makes the cruiser do half an Eskimo Roll.

Up is down, and the remaining survivors hope that their ship stays afloat until rescuers arrives. Not everyone is that optimistic, however, and the previously introduced characters start an uncertain climb for possible survival.

Through cramped spaces and crystal clear waters - with some fiery inferno to boot - the group thins and obstacle after another arises to dampen their spirits. I think the cast's performances were good, and none of the issues they had to deal with were too unbelievable. That, of course, makes the situations only worse to watch.

In the spirit of all similar movies before this, and probably after as well, some of the characters make it while others don't. You could make some guesses as to who might not make it, which is part of the "entertaining" factor of the story. Also, I have no idea what drowning really looks like, but we had at least one very good version of it in here.

All in all, a good disaster story, I guess. It didn't seem too impossible or too long, and this will probably make you eye to horizon for a bit longer the next time you dare to put your foot in a boat of any size.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pokémon: Lucario and the Mystery of Mew review

Posted : 2 years, 12 months ago on 28 August 2014 07:25 (A review of Pokémon: Lucario and the Mystery of Mew)

Our heroes - or mainly, Ash - compete in a contest at Cameron Palace to earn the title of the "Guardian of the Aura". Little do they know that the legend of Sir Aaron may not be as it seems, and that the staff that's been handed down from generation to the next actually holds within it a Pokémon Lucario - an apprentice of Sir Aaron himself.

The movie's plot if pretty good, the art is the usual level of Pokémon movies, and I really liked this film; it was eventful, didn't repeat itself (something that happens in children's movies/shows all too often to underline the meaningful points in the plot), and the inner struggle and emotions of people and Pokémon alike were easy to sympathize with. The story was also coherent, and there weren't weird twists or errors. Even Team Rocket fit in very well in this one.

Mew makes its second appearance here. I miss the voice it had in the first movie, but what can you do. Also, I don't know why, but May didn't look or sound like herself in this one (maybe the voice actor changed, and her look at the ball was a lot different from her usual traveling outfit).

All in all a must-see for Pokémon fans. One of the best movies in the series, for sure!


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 4 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block