Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (35) - TV Shows (2)

The Invincible Iron Man review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 28 August 2014 07:17 (A review of The Invincible Iron Man)

A rather basic movie from a comic book genre.

I wasn't partcilarly fond of this "origin" story. Or the story in general. The movie starts off a little slow - but the beginning is perhaps the best part of the whole thing. There's the unnecessary-but-forced-into-the-plot love affair mixed into everything, a couple of villains that really don't get any flesh and blood beaten into them, and overall the characers just don't take flight.

Nor does Iron Man; there was surprisingly little of the armored avenger - and most of it was in the Mark I suite, which was just... a shame, really.

The animation was good at most points although the action scenes were very sluggish - and those are the ones that should shine in a super hero movie. The music was good, alhough I'm pretty sure they've used the same tunes somewhere else in the animated Iron Man franchises...


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pokémon Ranger and the Temple of the Sea review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 28 August 2014 07:12 (A review of Pokémon Ranger and the Temple of the Sea)

In the long list of Pokémon movies, this is not the worst nor the best.

There were many elements I thought were very computer game-ish; I could see that if they wanted to turn the movie straight into a game, there would be many scenes directly translated to that with all the jumping, fighting and moving around.

Our main character Ash, Brock, May and Max are joined by a Marina Group, who put on a beautiful show with water and psychic Pokémon. None of the new characters stay as strangers and they become part of the story very nicely.

Although the Pokémon Ranger Jack Walker is kind of annoying, he remains fairly professional and doesn't ruin the whole thing. Pokémon Rangers as a whole are not explored all that much, when Ash - and especially May - end up being the big heroes.

The music in the film was kind of disappointing. You could listen to it for a bit, but then it just seemed to repeat itself instead of remaining entertaining. The art was top notch again, although I'm not a fan of computer animation being mixed into the usual animation style - they just don't fit together that well.

The plot was short, making the movie feel slightly too long. It wasn't boring, though, and remained quite well balanced. It also captured some good, strong emotions of taking care of someone and then having to let them go.

I wouldn't resist watching this again, but the story was a bit weaker than in the best of Pokémon movies I've already seen.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Doctor Strange: The Sorcerer Supreme review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 27 August 2014 08:05 (A review of Doctor Strange: The Sorcerer Supreme)

I'm not previously familiar with Doctor Strange, save for seeing brief appearances when skipping pages of to-read-comics - and a lot of references in other Marvel mediums.

I don't know how accurate this origin story is to the comic version, but I rather enjoyed this one. An arrogant doctor loses the use of his hands - and thus, he thinks, his entire life.

A lesson in humility quickly - or slowly, although the final change seemed rather abrupt - takes him to a new world where the shortcomings of his physical body are just as deep or shallow as he allows.

The world of magic-wielding was interesting, as were the beasts in it, and I would have loved to delve further into that. Dr. Strange remained on the background for much of the beginning of the movie, until he rose to a position he could have not expected - and perhaps did not deserve, according to some.

The final battle, towards which all of the movie was building, was disappointing. The problems were solved without much difficulty and obstacles overcome. If they had maintained the pace and thread of the beginning, things may have worked better, but now the story left much to desire.

Overall, the graphics and animation looked good, so nothing to complain there.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

On the Buses review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 27 August 2014 07:53 (A review of On the Buses)

This movie feels more like a compilation of episodes mashed together rather than a longer work of its own (plus, some sections are almost direct translations from episodes, although the movie doesn't follow the continuity of the tv show).

All in all, if you've enjoyed "On the Buses", you're bound to like this as well (the characters are the same, most of the story is the same - even most of the jokes are the same!).

It feels like a mediocre episode, without any truly spectacular comedy, but it makes for a nice view.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Futurama: Bender's Big Score review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 25 August 2014 09:27 (A review of Futurama: Bender's Big Score)

As much as I like Futurama, I have to say that this movie was weaker than some of the weakest episodes.

All the old characters were there. All the old jokes. All the things you could ever want from a movie made to continue the series.

They just couldn't hold it together. In the long run, the jokes started to get worse, the plot fell apart, and events just took place with an aimless sort of feeling. It was like creating several episodes and trying to glue them together at the seams, but you can still see where one plot begins and the other ends, and they don't go together very well.

For anyone who likes Futurama, this is worth a watch. However, this is not the best of the best, nor will never be.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mutiny on the Buses review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 25 August 2014 09:25 (A review of Mutiny on the Buses)

Those who have watched the TV show "On the Buses" are bound to like this.

The characters and predicaments are similar to those seen on TV (with a few scenes directly borrowed, but the movie plays them very well and puts an original spin on things). The story here is whole, unlike in the first "On the Buses" movie; the plot progresses nicely and has a satisfactory arc.

Stan Butler (Reg Varney) gets into a bit of trouble after promising his "bird" Sally that they would get married. However, Sally won't get married before they have a place of their own, and so Stan has to come up with ways to get more money - especially when his mother is strongly against his son flying the coop and leaving the rest of them to struggle, especially when Stan's brother-in-law becomes unemployed.

Every character gets their moments to shine in this one, there are some truly enjoyable moments of comedy and creativity, and the spirit of the buses is definitely there from start to finish.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Holiday on the Buses review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 25 August 2014 09:24 (A review of Holiday on the Buses)

Strong 3 stars.

The traditional "On the Buses" setting takes a remodeling in this movie that sees Stan Butler, Jack Harper and Inspector Blake in a very different place due to certain mishaps at the depo.

Getting jobs at a holiday village, Stan and Jack are back to their old routines in no time, looking for female company and bending the rules fast as they can. Stan's family unsurprisingly gets invited to the resort as well, yet there are quite a few interesting events ahead.

There are a lot of good laughs in this movie, with unpredictable chains of events and borrowing very little from the original TV show in terms of plot devices. The new setting truly works for the best here, not taking away from the characters but giving them a chance to stretch their wings a little.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

2012: Doomsday review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 25 August 2014 09:07 (A review of 2012: Doomsday)

Over-religious, badly constructed movie with over-dramatic music playing on the background from the very beginning.

"2012 Doomsday" is an odd movie about the end of the world, and by now I have seen many of them. This definitely is the worst one so far. The camera work wasn't impressive either, sometimes even bordering to annoying, moving around people while they talked, seeking for some kind of drama that just wasn't there.

Not a lot of disaster is shown, and mostly it is just generally talked about. There are several (in)convenient earthquakes, and a hailstorm, which make the movie feel way cornier than it should for its own good. The film also takes the top place for "most unrealistic snowfall of all time".

The acting wasn't very good, going to the bad side of over-acting sometimes, and it was hard to find the characters appealing or their emotional journey realistic. The characters come from different places, the story shooting from one to the next, nothing having a clear direction other than getting them all into same place.

Somehow the ancient Mayan prophecy is turned around to fit the Christian religion - or something. For me that was just too much; in the beginning the religious theme was there, but in the end there was nothing else left, and I didn't fully get the ending of the movie. Maybe that's religion for you, who knows.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Love and Other Disasters review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 25 August 2014 09:04 (A review of Love and Other Disasters)

Funny, twisty, light movie. "Gay man is a girl's best friend" really made itself useful here - giving the movie the depth and edge it deserves.

Great characters, good acting, and witty script.

And did I mention Orlando Bloom really nailed his role, looking absolutely lovely with accent and all?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pokémon: The Rise of Darkrai review

Posted : 3 years, 3 months ago on 25 August 2014 09:00 (A review of Pokémon: The Rise of Darkrai)

I was looking forward to seeing this movie (especially because of Darkrai, Dialga and Palkia).

Not a bad film on the scale set by Pokémon movies.

The art was beautiful, although nothing out of the ordinary. Still, I liked it, and it stood out nicely for itself.

Besides our heroes, the guest stars were okay, and they were given enough background, screen time and character to make themselves useful.

The plot itself... the movie started really slow. It seemed to take forever before things actually got going, and by the time the end was near, it didn't feel like much; after all the battling between Dialga and Palkia in the past minutes, the conclusion was nothing special.

All in all a good movie, definitely worth the watch, and the story was good if you don't count the fact that they didn't really bring anything amazing/awesome into it.

Also, I liked Darkrai's voice more than I have liked other Pokémon voices made into actual speech. It sounded far more... realistic.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block