Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (35) - TV Shows (2)

Free Willy: Escape from Pirate's Cove review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 August 2014 07:59 (A review of Free Willy: Escape from Pirate's Cove)

Fourth "Free Willy" movie, although I think it's a bit unfair to call it one; they call the whale Willy, and it is an orca, but that's where the similarities end when it comes to characters.

Kirra is young and determined to stay at his father's side when he gets into an incident which forces him to stay in a hospital for a long time. Against her will, Kirra is shipped off to South Africa to see his grandfather, who despite big dreams has managed to make very little of his amusement park.

While Kirra and her gambling grandfather Gus attempt to bond and make his dying park work, a storm throws a golden opportunity in their laps; a baby orca, washed into their lagoon that is separated from the sea.

Gus, of course, sees an attraction of a lifetime, while Kirra wants to save the orca. Unfortunately, Willy is still a baby, and would never be able to find his pod before starving to death.

Kirra, naturally, wins the Orca over - while the owner of a far more successful amusement park wants the new attraction for himself.

The movie was okay, the characters feeling real, but overall the plot didn't have the thrill of the original movies - much less THE original movie, the first meeting of Willy and Jesse. Perhaps I should not compare, but if you make a movie in a franchise, that is inevitable.

Cute, touching, but not very deep.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Order of Chaos review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 August 2014 07:58 (A review of Order of Chaos)

A slightly strange, bizarre movie. It felt like the camera work and plot were slightly off their medication as well.

The beginning of the movie made somewhat more sense than the rest of it, but it was a bit jerky. Sure, that was the style that was maintained thorough the entire film, and while it was kind of fascinating, it also made the movie confusing - which wasn't good at all.

I watched this movie to see Milo Ventimiglia, I admit, and in that respect I don't regret watching the film at all. Milo as Rick was strong, arrogant, smart(ass), and fantastic to look at.

Rhys Coiro as John, on the other hand, was shaky, and totally off his rocker most of the time. His character was supposed to be messed up, I get that, but in the end it just didn't work out that well.

Not the worst movie I've seen, and there were some good moments in the fast-paced plot, but all in all it was a bit too jerky and insane for my tastes.

I liked the music of the movie, though. Might buy the soundtrack.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tidal Wave review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 August 2014 07:54 (A review of Tidal Wave)

This movie had a lot of different characters - some of them goofy and some just very loud and obnoxious, bordering to annoying. Nonetheless, all those stories are rather thoroughly explored before the actual main event begins to approach.

The disaster itself, in the shape of a mega tsunami caused by an island falling apart due to earthquakes, isn't dragged out too much. It is quite realistic, ruthless, claiming a lot of lives even among the characters we learned to know in the beginning of the movie.

A touching film that isn't so much about the disaster, really, but the lives of the people, and in a way it seems the plot itself takes too much time to unfold, often in ways that are less interesting and hard to follow.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dorian Gray review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 August 2014 07:44 (A review of Dorian Gray)

The scariest sounding painting ever can be found in this movie (yes, you heard right).

For some reason I was expecting to see a vampire movie. No idea where I got that idea stuck in my head.

While the plot of the movie was rather bizarre and there were very artistic moments of lust and passion, I still kind of liked this. A young, slightly naïve Dorian Gray (beautiful Ben Barnes) arrives to London, and is pretty much seduced by Henry (Colin Firth) to exercise all and every one of his passions - once he dares to unleash them. After Basil (Ben Chaplin) paints Dorian, something extraordinary happens: nothing can touch Dorian anymore.

Awesome soundtrack: creepy, beautiful and haunting.

I didn't care so much for the images of mindless passion (there was just a bit too much of that crazy stuff in here), but all in all a pretty powerful movie. And yes, very creepy.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Love & Distrust review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 August 2014 07:31 (A review of Love & Distrust)

This movie consist of five different stories, all of them starring some bigger names (I was really looking forward to the stories with Sam Worthington and Robert Downey Jr.).

I'm not sure where exactly the title of this film came from, because there wasn't a whole lot of love in there. Not the kind of love that you could have expected, anyway.

Two out of five stories I enjoyed, and two of them made very little sense.

"The Summer House", starring Robert Pattinson (of whom we barely saw during this short film, to be honest - and I'm glad for that since I can't stand him!) and Talulah Riley. While the mankind prepares to set their foot on the Moon for the very first time, a celebration for the occasion goes on far below on Earth, in France. I'm not sure exactly what is going on there otherwise; we are first introduced to Jane, who apparently has some sort of problem with someone. That appears to be Richard, her ex-boyfriend, who ran off with another girl but is apparently wanting her back. The plot - was there one? - was very hard to follow, with all those secondary characters trying to create their other stories within the already small space. The acting was okay for the most part, although Pattinson as Richard was just... empty, hollow, cold and unconvincing.

"Blue Poles", starring Sam Worthington, was my second favorite little film in this collection. It tells of two strangers traveling by car - Libby and Miles - who sort of fall for each other. Libby is... becoming a hippie, I think, although not doing very well. She doesn't really believe in love, while the farm-boy Miles tries to convince her that her thinking is wrong. The storytelling in this one was a bit jumpy too, but the little scenes fit together nicely.

"Grasshopper" starred James Franco, telling of a businessman who has to take the train when bad weather cancels the flights. He sees a woman on the train whom he doesn't fully approve of, but has to turn to her for help when he leaves his phone on the train. This starts a chain-reaction of events where he actually grows closer to her - only that is not enough to stop the tragic end of this little story. This was actually my favorite of these little films.

"Pennies...", starring Amy Adams, is a chaotic, strange, psychedelic experience. It doesn't make sense, although at the very end lies the answer to everything, but that doesn't make up for the otherwise mindless ride of characters who just don't make any sense at all.

"Auto Motives", starring Robert Downey Jr. (among others), was a big disappointment. It viewed moments in people's lives, all of them pretty random and hard to follow or understand. One of them follows a man who tries to get a woman - any woman - to accept a ride in his fancy car. Another story shows us an old woman whose husband left her for a younger woman. The funniest is a scene with two robbers who don't get very far from their crime scene. The part with RDJ made little sense, but it would seem he and this other guy are working for James Cameron and take it to their own hands to make their fortune. Even RDJ shirtless doesn't save this one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Adventures of a Teenage Dragonslayer review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 August 2014 07:16 (A review of Adventures of a Teenage Dragonslayer)

From the very beginning, this movie is an unfunny joke. The overall mood is light, the plot on the dangerous side of ridiculous, the actors are over-acting, which makes it all feel like one big farce.

This movie also has the cheapest special effects I've seen in any recently made movie. Had the plot been anything close to decent, that may have been tolerable...

There is a story: a group of kids hunting for monsters that aren't real. It is left a bit unclear whether they actually believe in said monsters before they discover an actual troll from their favorite card game.

All in all the movie was a big joke, and a pain to watch. Good thing it wasn't longer than one and half hours. Maybe the kids will find something alluring in the shallow, ridiculous form of acting, but for me, this was a huge disappointment. Not that I expected much to begin with.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Pros and Ex-Cons review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 24 August 2014 06:51 (A review of Pros and Ex-Cons)

The movie started off a little weird; random little shots of people, then introductions... after that the story got really going, and was enjoyable after the unbalanced beginning.

I watched this movie mostly to see Sam Worthington's performance, and he was brilliant as usual. He didn't have a huge part. To be honest, none of the characters had a huge part in the story, but they all contributed to each other, and it was interesting how all their lives were in the end driven to the same place and linked to each other.

Acting in this movie was either "kind of good", or "really bad". It just didn't get me to sink into the movie but kept me on the surface, watching rather than feeling.

The plot was shaky and the story didn't run smoothly. There were outrageously funny moments here and there, and a fair amount of violence (though I'm not sure if it's enough for 18+ rating I've seen somewhere).

If the storytelling wasn't so glitchy and the beginning of the movie so unbalanced, I think I would have enjoyed this more. An entertaining ride, sure, but I didn't really get to know any of the people on screen very well, although their motivations were shoved to the front quite clearly.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1 2 3 4Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block